- General Information
- Initial Registration/Letter of Intent
- Required Yearly Testing
- Nonpublic School Aid
- Driver's Education
- Homeschool Questions and Answers
Minnesota’s compulsory instruction law requires all children ages 7-17 to attend a public or nonpublic (private) school. Homeschools are considered a type of nonpublic school under Minnesota law. Because compulsory instruction and school attendance is mandatory, you must register the homeschool.
Parents who home school must notify the student's resident school district superintendent:
- By October 1 of the first year the child is home schooled after reaching the age of 7;
- Within 15 days of withdrawing a child from public school to home school or to enroll the child in any nonpublic school that is not accredited by a state-recognized accrediting agency (List of State Recognized Accrediting Agencies);
- Within 15 days of moving out of a resident district; and
- By October 1, after a new resident district is established
Instruction must be provided in at least the following subject areas:
- basic communication skills including reading and writing, literature and fine arts;
- mathematics and science;
- social studies including history, geography, economics, government and citizenship; and
- health and physical education.
Homeschool parents/guardians do everything that traditional private school administrators and teachers do but in the context of their home. This means planning what students learn, keeping all current and future records, managing costs, and assuring the quality and scope of their student's education for college recruiters and employers. Students graduate from homeschools with homeschool diplomas and homeschool transcripts, just as they would from other private schools. Neither the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) nor local school districts validate or certify this homeschool education, transcripts, or diploma - and do not do so for regular private schools.
For more information, please visit the Minnesota Department of Education website.
Initial Registration Form for Unaccredited Nonpublic Schools (including homeschools) - This form must be submitted to the resident school district's superintendent by October 1 or within 15 days of withdrawing a child from public school.
Letter of Intent to Continue to Provide Instruction - This form must be submitted to the resident school district's superintendent by October 1 each year after the instructor has provided the Initial Registration form.
The State of Minnesota requires nationally norm-referenced standardized tests annually to each student between the ages of 7-17. Nationally normed tests can be obtained in several ways. Examples include the Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS) for grades K-8, the Iowa Tests of Educational Development (ITED) for grades 9-12, the Stanford Achievement Tests (SAT-10) for grades K-12, the California Achievement Test (CAT), and the Peabody. Home-school parents can order tests from the Minnesota Statewide Testing Program (MSTP) through the University of Minnesota. Students can also take the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCA) through Albert Lea Area Schools by contacting Gayle Brownlow at Gayle.Brownlow@alschools.org or 507.379.4811.
Homeschool families must comply with important state immunization law related to safeguarding public health. Minnesota Statute Section 121A.15. requires that parents/guardians submit the Minnesota immunization statement or a notarized statement regarding conscientiously held belief to their resident school district. Immunization forms are available from school districts. Districts must forward any conscientiously held belief exemptions on immunizations to the Minnesota Commissioner of Health.
More information about the immunization law is available at the Minnesota Department of Health website.
The Minnesota Department of Education has established the following reimbursement rates for the 2023-2024 school year:
- Textbooks, Individualized Instructional Materials, and Standardized Tests.....................................$95.69
This rate may be readjusted on or about October 15 when the actual appropriation and program participation figures are known. Eligible materials must be secular, neutral, non ideological, not capable of diversion for religious use, and designed primarily for individual pupil use in a particular class. If you intend to request reimbursement, you must complete and return the Student Report for Aids to Nonpublic Students by September 15, 2023. Qualifying receipts may be submitted to Dani Bryant anytime throughout the 2023-2024 school year, but will not be accepted after June 1, 2024.
Parents of homeschool students may teach the classroom portion of the driver's education curriculum. Please refer to the Department of Public Safety for comprehensive information.
Driver and Vehicle Services - Central Office
Town Square Building
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 176
Saint Paul, MN 55101-5176
Driver Services: DVS.firstname.lastname@example.org
Driver Education Office: (651) 201-7626